Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony: Begin Time and Watch – CNET

83 0

Japan loves fireworks. Expect them to play a huge role in the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics.

Alexander Hassenstein / Bongarts / Getty Images

We got from that weeks ago Olympic Games in Tokyo, but before that comes the opening ceremony, which is always worth a look.

Partly because of the pomp – the glorious artistic displays that represent the culture of the host country – but also because of the memes. During the 2016 Olympics, we were introduced to the shirtless, greased talents of Pita Taufatofua from Tonga, who promptly set the internet on fire. He repeated the 2018 Winter Olympics trick.

Top tips from the editors

Subscribe to CNET Now for the day’s most engaging reviews, news, and videos.

Will he return to the Tokyo Olympics? We don’t know for sure, but it’s a good reason to watch.

When does the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics begin?

The The Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony will be held on Friday, July 23 at 7 a.m. EDT (4 a.m. PDT)..

Let’s break this down into further time zones.

In the UK, this time means 12pm BST on Friday, July 23rd.

In Australia, it is Friday, July 23rd at 9:00 p.m. AEST.

Where can I watch the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics?

In the USA

This year, NBC will broadcast coverage of the Olympics for a full day, including the opening ceremony. You can watch it live from coast to coast. NBC will first air at 6:55 a.m. EDT (3:55 a.m. PDT) in all US time zones.

NBC will also re-air the event at 7:30 p.m. EDT (4:30 p.m. PDT).

In the United Kingdom

In the UK, the BBC and Eurosport hold the rights to the Tokyo Olympics. With everyone in the UK having access to the BBC, this will most likely be the easiest way to watch. It is broadcast live on BBC One and can be streamed on BBC iPlayer and the BBC Sport website.

In Australia

Similar to the UK, the Tokyo Olympics can be watched on free-to-air television. The opening ceremony can be seen live on channel 7 or via the streaming service 7plus.

Where will the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics take place?

The opening ceremony will take place at the Japan National Stadium, also known as the Olympic Stadium.

What can we expect

woman-593259002

Shinzo Abe wears a Mario hat at the Rio Olympics closing ceremony.

PHILIPPE LOPEZ / AFP via Getty Images

Typical Olympic opening ceremonies celebrate the culture of the host country, supplemented by a specific theme. For example, at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, the theme was unity. These events can be expensive, and often cost more than $ 100 million.

Japanese opening ceremonies traditionally celebrated ancient Japanese culture, but former Prime Minister Shinzo Abe dressed up as Mario during the handover at the closing ceremony of the Rio Olympics in pop culture.

Could we finally see Naruto at an Olympic Games opening ceremony? We can dream …

Producer Marco Balich has also said that there was some mention of COVID-19 during the event.

Leave a Reply